QuarryNZ awards:

Every year the QuarryNZ Conference holds an Awards night to celebrate success across the Industry.

MIMICO Environment & Community Award

About the award:
The industry sponsored MIMICO Environment & Community Award annually recognises and celebrates the quarry industry’s care for the environment and community. The award acknowledges the excellent and diverse range of projects undertaken by AQA members.

MIMICO is a well-respected Waikato company that sells, hires and services heavy machinery; it shares the AQA’s commitment to encouraging environmental excellence.

Does your company have an initiative that protects the environment and / or supports a community?

  • $3,000 prize up for grabs
  • Whether it’s a big or small project, you should consider entering
  • If you are doing your bit for the environment – let us know
  • It’s easy to do – just complete the one-page entry form and get the General Manager or CEO to sign it off
  • All finalists will receive publicity including written material, promotion at the QuarryNZ 2024 conference in Rotorua, as well as feature on the AQA website.

Entries for the 2024 MIMICO Environment & Community Award are now closed.

Details of previous winners can be found here.

IOQ Awards:

The Institute of Quarrying NZ Awards are a conference highlight and amongst others, cover categories including:

  • Winstone Aggregates Safety Award – judged on who is best meeting a wide range of H & S criteria
  • Southern Cross Engineering – Roctech Innovation Award – $3,500 award for someone to develop innovations that can assist quarrying
  • Lyn Jordan Memorial Trophy for best technical paper
  • BR Webster Family Educational Scholarship – towards tertiary or practical learning studies
  • WorkSafe Chief Inspector Safety Leadership Award

Entries are required by May 31 each year, other than Winstones Safety Award which needs to be in by April 20 each year. Any IOQ member can nominate another IOQ member. Nominations should include some background information about the person: current job description, a mini version CV. Entries to and details on IOQ website

Tomorrow’s Leader Award

These awards from Q+M magazine recognise upcoming leaders in the quarrying sector. As many as several people have won an award in one year, which recognises “future leaders.” They are each provided with a certificate and $1000 each. If you have a someone showing talent in your quarry, email a brief CV and outline of the person’s achievements and qualities to Q+M Editor Alan Titchall – by April 30 each year.



Aggregates are the most consumed bulk product in the world after water. New Zealand uses 9-10 tonnes of aggregate every year for each adult and child.


To build an average house, you need about 250 tonnes of aggregate - for use in concrete, asphalt, mortar and building products.


The quarry industry is committed to working alongside local communities and follows stringent planning, environmental and operating conditions.