The industry sponsored Mimico Environmental Award annually recognises excellence within the aggregate industry for outstanding examples of pollution management, rehabilitation, beautification or other environmental work.MIMICO is a well-respected Waikato company that sells, hires and services heavy machinery; it shares the AQA’s commitment to encouraging environmental excellence.

This annual set of awards recognises and celebrates the quarry industry's care for the environment. Gold, Silver and Bronze awards acknowledge the diverse range of projects undertaken by our members.

Entries Open for Industry Awards

Three sets of awards are handed out at the QuarryNZ conference – Mimico Environment and Community Awards, IOQNZ Awards and Quarrying and Mining magazine’s aspiring leader awards. Now is the time to be looking at getting an entry or entries submitted.

Mimico Awards
First up in conference are the Mimico 2018 Environment and Community Awards. These awards recognise the contributions made by member companies and staff in caring for the environment. This year, under refreshed awards, entries that highlight your community engagement or energy-related projects are also encouraged.

Awards judge, former Parliamentary Commissioner for the Environment, Dr Morgan Williams, proposed the new and wider focus after last year’s awards.

"Over the years I have received entries which were really more about good engagement with a community or doing something which reduces energy use than strictly projects around a quarry’s efforts to manage impacts on its environment. These other elements deserve to be acknowledged and am very pleased that’s been supported by Mimico and by the AQA Board."

The scope of your entry can include any action, process, activity or project that has a positive effect on the environment AND your local community that is part of your working environment. It may be large or small, one-off or ongoing, a formal project or someone’s bright idea (on energy, dust mitigation, community engagement etc) that has been put into action. Past Mimico awards winners are both major corporates and minor players. Just complete the one-page entry form with a brief description of your project and get your Manager to sign off. Dr Williams will come and inspect – itself a useful process.

Entry forms also available AQA CEO Roger Parton:

IOQ Awards The Institute of Quarrying NZ Awards are a conference highlight and cover categories including:
  • Winstone Aggregates Safety Award – judged on who is best meeting a wide range of H & S criteria
  • Southern Cross Engineering – Roctech Innovation Award – $3,500 award for someone to develop innovations that can assist quarrying
  • Lyn Jordan Memorial Trophy for best technical paper
  • B R Webster Family Educational Scholarship – towards tertiary or practical learning studies
  • WorkSafe Chief Inspector Safety Leadership Award
Entries are required by May 31, other than Winstones Safety Award which needs to be in by April 20. Any IOQ member can nominate another IOQ member. Nominations should include some background information about the person: current job description, a mini version CV. Entries to and details on IOQ website

NZ Quarrying and Mining Awards These awards from Q+M magazine recognise upcoming leaders in the quarrying sector. As many as several people have won an award in one year, which recognises “future leaders.” They are each provided with a certificate and $1000 each. If you have a someone showing talent in your quarry, email a brief CV and outline of the person’s achievements and qualities to Q+M Editor Alan Titchall – by May 31.

To obtain any extra information contact our office:
MarlboroughNet Online Media © The Aggregate and Quarry association of New Zealand